The Audubon County Community Foundation awarded $53,150 to Audubon County nonprofit organizations and community projects during its Fall 2022 Grant Cycle. Including these most recent grants, the Audubon County Community Foundation has distributed more than $2.8 million in grants and scholarships over the last 25 years.

The following organizations are Fall 2022 Grant Recipients:

  • Albert the Bull Committee – $1,000 , Operation Penny Machine
  • Audubon County Agricultural Society – $7,000, Chairs and Carriers
  • Audubon County Hospital Foundation – $16,320, ACMH Surgical Lights and Boom
  • Exira Lions Club – $2,950, Lions Club and Park Equipment
  • Friendship Home – $20,880 , Lower Dining Area Air Conditioning
  • Girl Scouts of Greater Iowa – $1,000, Girl Scout Tree Promise – Audubon County
  • The Children’s Nest – $4,000, Staff Kitchenette and Work Area Improvements

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible to apply.

These grant funds were made possible by the generosity of donors to the Audubon County Community Foundation and the following charitable funds allocated through the community foundation: Audubon Masonic Association Endowed Fund; Audubon State Bank/Stephen Garst Endowed Fund; Charles T. and Kathleen K. Manatt Endowed Fund; Leon and Iva Milliman Endowed Fund for Audubon County, Iowa; Fred and Evelyn Nissen Endowed Fund for Audubon; and Merle and Norma Petersen Endowed Fund.

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Audubon County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any advisory board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Audubon County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Advisory board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are Chair, Steven B. Hansen of Audubon; Vice Chair, Pat Kaiser of Audubon; Secretary/Treasurer, Megan Wagner of Audubon; Gina Benton of Exira; Dr. Bob Blomme, DVM of Audubon; Travis Nelson of Exira; and Donna Olson of Kimballton.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or