The Harrison County Community Foundation awarded $92,500 to Harrison County nonprofit organizations and community projects during its Fall 2022 Grant Cycle. Including these most recent grants, the Harrison County Community Foundation has distributed more than $3.9 million in grants and scholarships over the last 25 years.

The following organizations are Fall 2022 Grant Recipients:

  • City of Logan – $10,000, Logan Milliman Park Improvements
  • City of Pisgah – $4,900, Litter Cleanup and Control
  • Dunlap Volunteer Fire and Rescue – $1,200, Vacuum Matts
  • Dunlap Wellness Center – $ 5,000, Dunlap Wellness Center Equipment Upgrade
  • Girl Scouts of Greater Iowa – $1,000, Girl Scout Tree Promise – Harrison County
  • Harrison County Genealogical Society – $3,000, Merry Brook Entry Floor Rebuild
  • Harrison County Humane Society – $500, Security for New Building
  • Harrison County Landfill Commission – $7,900, Recycling Container Restoration
  • Harrison County Sheriff’s Department – $16,390, Body/Car Camera Server
  • IGNITE Pathways – $5,200, IP Early Childhood STEM Lab
  • Logan Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association – $2,600, Victim Rescue Safety
  • Missouri Valley Housing Corporation – $525, New Light-Weight Tables
  • Modale Public Library – $2,000, Technology Upgrade through Tablets
  • Persia Ball Association – $6,575, Persia Ballpark Grandstand Renovation Project
  • Rand Community Center – 5,825, Ice Machine
  • Trivium Life Services – $2,500, Fresh Start Fund
  • Woodbine Carnegie Public Library – $885, End Cap Book Displays and Signage
  • Woodbine Fire and Rescue Association – $15,000, Transport with Safety
  • Woodbine Saddle Club, Inc. – $1,500, Updating of Restrooms

All grantees met the criteria as Harrison County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Harrison County were eligible to apply.

These grant funds were made possible by the generosity of donors to the Harrison County Community Foundation and the following charitable funds through the community foundation: Kathryn Heistand Walpus Endowed Fund for Woodbine; Lloyd and Donna Leonard Endowed Fund; Missouri Valley Community Foundation Endowment Fund; Pisgah Community Endowed Fund; Wubbena C. Rand Endowed Fund; and Richard and Kathryn Randall Endowed Fund.

The Harrison County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds—such as those above—that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Harrison County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any advisory board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Harrison County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Board members of the Harrison County Community Foundation are Chair, Jay Smith of Missouri Valley; Vice Chair, Barbara Oliver of Logan; Secretary/Treasurer, Kerry Stueve of Missouri Valley; Gordon Fliehe of Logan; Todd Noah of Moorhead; Noel Sherer of Woodbine; and Lori Thomsen of Dunlap.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or