The Shelby County Community Foundation awarded $44,500 to Shelby County nonprofit organizations and community projects during its Fall 2022 Grant Cycle. Including these most recent grants, the Shelby County Community Foundation has distributed more than $3.9 million in grants and scholarships over the last 25 years.

The following organizations are Fall 2022 Grant Recipients:

  • City of Elk Horn – $2,000, Pool House
  • City of Irwin – $1,200, Community Building Chair Replacement
  • Concerned, Inc. – $375, Technology Upgrade
  • Country Care Center Corporation – $2,500, Transfer Area Door
  • Danish Windmill Corporation – $2,500, Tree Removal
  • Defiance Fire & Rescue – $1,000, Back Up Cameras
  • Earling Fire & Rescue Department – $5,225, Torpedo Nozzles
  • Elk Horn Fire Department – $2,000, Rescue and Vehicle Extrication Equipment
  • Friends of Harlan City Parks – $2,000, Dreamland Playground First Feature
  • Harlan Community Library – $3,800, Teammates Mentoring Relationship Builders
  • Harlan Community Teammates Mentoring Program – $3,375, Teammates Mentoring Relationship Builders
  • Harlan Fire Department – $2,000, Communications Replacement Project
  • Panama Volunteer Fire Department – $2,500, Tables, Pulse Oximeter Monitoring System
  • Shelby County Community Outreach – $1,650, Home Repair Program
  • Shelby County Historical Museum – $1,150, Museum Store Update
  • Shelby County Trails Board – 1,000, Ballpark to Ballpark Trail
  • Shelby Fire & Rescue – $2,425, Ambulance Narcotic Safe
  • Time For Tots – $2,425, Early Literacy Development

All grantees met the criteria as Shelby County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Shelby County were eligible to apply.

These grant funds were made possible by the generosity of donors to the Shelby County Community Foundation and the following charitable funds through the community foundation: Endow Harlan Fund; Grandparents Gifts Foundation for Shelby Endowed Fund; and Thelma Petersen Endowed Fund.

The Shelby County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds—such as those above—that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Shelby County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any advisory board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Shelby County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Advisory board members of the Shelby County Community Foundation are Chair, Brock Darling of Irwin; Vice Chair, Kristy Hansen, CPA of Harlan; Secretary/Treasurer, Michael Riley of Harlan; Jodee Dixon of Elk Horn; Leona Konz of Shelby; and Max Powers of Defiance.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or