The Shelby County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that grants totaling $40,033 were awarded to Shelby County nonprofit organizations and community projects. With these grants, the Shelby County Community Foundation has distributed over $3.3 million in grants and scholarships over the last 23 years.

The following organizations were awarded grants by the Shelby County Community Foundation Advisory Board:

  • Concerned, Inc. – $1,500, Stop the Bleed Equipment
  • Corley Community Club – $2,500, A/C and Heating Units
  • Country Care Center Corporation – $1,500, Pandemic Isolation Area Updates
  • Defiance Fire and Rescue Department – $1,500, Equipment Update
  • Earling Fire and Rescue Department – $3,500, Communication Equipment Replacement
  • Elk Horn Fire Department – $3,500, SCBA Bottle Replacement
  • Elk Horn Public Library – $1,500, Educational Resources
  • Harlan Community Library – $2,400, Take & Make Library Programs
  • Irwin Community Building – $1,000, Community Building Chair Replacement
  • Petersen Family Wellness Center – $4,000, Equipment Replacement
  • Portsmouth Volunteer Fire Department – $3,500, Firefighter Protective Turnout Gear Replacement
  • Shelby County Conservation Board – $4,000, Nishna Bend River Access and Boat Dock
  • Shelby County Emergency Management – $3,500, Shelby County Mobile Command
  • Shelby County Trails Board – $4,000, Ballpark to Ballpark Trail
  • Shelby Fire and Rescue – $1,633, Multi-Gas Detectors
  • Time For Tots – $500, Outdoor Classroom

All grantees met the criteria as Shelby County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Shelby County were eligible to apply.

These grant funds were made possible by the generosity of donors to the Shelby County Community Foundation and the following charitable funds through the community foundation: Endow Harlan Fund; Grandparents Gifts Foundation for Shelby Endowed Fund; and Thelma Petersen Endowed Fund.

The Shelby County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds—such as those above—that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Shelby County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Shelby County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Board members of the Shelby County Community Foundation are Chair, Jim Zimmerman of Harlan; Vice Chair, Kristy Hansen of Harlan; Secretary/Treasurer, Michael Riley of Harlan; Brock Darling of Irwin; Jodee Dixon of Elk Horn; and Rhonda Powers of Defiance.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or