The Shelby County Community Foundation awarded $133,550 to Shelby County nonprofit organizations and community projects during its Spring 2022 Grant Cycle.

The following organizations are Spring 2022 Grant Recipients:

  • Concerned Inc. – $2,000, Safety Light Repair
  • Country Care Center Corporation – $2,400, Fire Door Mechanics Installation
  • Defiance Fire and Rescue Department – $12,251, Emergency Back Up Generator
  • Earling Fire & Rescue Department – $ 20,000.00 , SCBA Refill Station Upgrade
  • Elk Horn Public Library – $2,000, Young Adult Library Space
  • Friends of Harlan City Parks – $6,000, Water Fountains for Harlan Parks
  • Harlan Little League – $2,700, Equipment Replacement Purchase
  • Harlan Swim Team – $4,033, Starting Block Tops and Covers
  • Irwin Fire and Rescue Association – $15,000, Life Safety Equipment
  • Kids in the Village – $14,613, Classroom Furniture and Play Equipment
  • Kirkman Fire Department – $8,100, Personal Protection Equipment
  • Museum of Danish America – $5,000, Expanding Pedestrian Walking Paths
  • Panama Community Club and Betterment Association – $5,000, Welcome Sign
  • Panama Volunteer Fire Department – $15,000, 12 Lead EKG Monitoring System
  • Petersen Family Wellness Center – $10,000, Resurfacing of Wooden Gym Floor
  • Shelby County Community Outreach – $4,500, Building Upkeep – Exterior Painting
  • Shelby County Historical Museum – $600 , Visitor Safety Initiative
  • Shelby Fire and Rescue – $1,895, Advanced Life Support Portable Automated External Defibrillators (AED)
  • Time For Tots – $15,000, Education and Play Revision
  • West Central Community Action – $396, Emergency Clothing Room Garment Racks

All grantees met the criteria as Shelby County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Shelby County were eligible to apply.

The Shelby County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the Omaha Community Foundation, which meets National Standards for Community Foundations, and is one of nine county members of the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa. It receives funds annually from the State of Iowa County Endowment Fund Program for endowment building and grantmaking throughout the county. This cycle of grants was made possible through the County Endowment Fund Program and is funded by a percentage of the state’s commercial gaming tax revenue, which is distributed annually to participating community foundations associated with counties without a state-issued gaming license.

The Shelby County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Shelby County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Shelby County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

The Shelby County Community Foundation Advisory Board Members are Chair, Brock Darling of Irwin; Vice Chair, Kristy Hansen, CPA of Harlan; Secretary/Treasurer, Michael Riley of Harlan; Jodee Dixon of Elk Horn; Leona Konz of Shelby; and Max Powers of Defiance.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or