The Audubon County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that grants totaling $121,110 were awarded to Audubon County nonprofit organizations and community projects as part of its spring grant cycle.

The following organizations were awarded grants by the Audubon County Community Foundation Advisory Board:

  • Audubon County Conservation Board – $7,000, Playground at Littlefield Recreation Area
  • Audubon County Fair Board – $8,000, Grandstand Renovation – Sidewalk and Fencing
  • Audubon Recreation Foundation – $52,110, Making the Front Door Accessible
  • Exira Community Club – $25,000, Exira Legion Park Playground Project
  • Exira Lions Club – $5,000, Brickwork to Building Façade
  • Friendship Home Foundation – $10,000, Lobby Elevator Modernization
  • Gray Community Betterment Corporation – $10,000, Building Repairs/Tuck Pointing
  • The Children’s Nest – $4,000, Changing Tables

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible to apply.

The Audubon County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the Omaha Community Foundation, which meets National Standards for Community Foundations, and is one of nine county members of the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa. It receives funds annually from the State of Iowa County Endowment Fund Program for endowment building and grantmaking throughout the county. Made possible through the County Endowment Fund Program, this cycle of grants was funded by a percentage of the state’s commercial gaming tax revenue, which is distributed annually to participating community foundations associated with counties without a state-issued gaming license.

Beyond the County Endowment Fund Program, the Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Audubon County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Audubon County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are Chair, Genelle Deist of Audubon; Vice Chair, Joel Hoegh of rural Brayton; Secretary/Treasurer, Barbara Johnson of Audubon; Gina Benton of Exira, Bob Blomme of Audubon; Steven B. Hansen of Audubon; and Megan Wagner of Audubon.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or