The Crawford County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that grants totaling $103,840 were awarded to Crawford County nonprofit organizations and community projects as part of its spring grant cycle.

The following organizations were awarded grants by the Crawford County Community Foundation Advisory Board:

  • Centers Against Abuse and Sexual Assault (CAASA) – $1,650, Crawford County Operational Support
  • Charter Oak Community Club – $4,000, Cement Slab for Building
  • Charter Oak Fire Department – $2,500, New Fire Helmets
  • City of Buck Grove – $1,000, New Flooring in City Hall
  • City of Kiron – $3,500, North Park Playground
  • City of Ricketts – $1,990, City Playground Equipment
  • Crawford County Fair Association – $12,000, Improving Swine Barn Pens
  • Crawford County Shooting Sports – $3,500, Youth Marksmanship League
  • Crossroads of Crawford County – $4,000, CoCares for Elderly and Caregivers
  • Dow City Community Club – $6,000, Community Building Floor Resurfacing
  • Dow City-Arion Fire and Rescue – $2,500, Protective Fire Gear
  • Friends of Yellow Smoke – $4,000, Outdoor Playscape
  • Kiron Fire Department – $2,500, Community CPR Training
  • Little Hawks Childcare Center – $12,000, Childcare Center Renovation and Equipment
  • Loess Hills Agriculture in the Classroom – $500, Agricultural Literacy for ELL Denison
  • Lutheran Services in Iowa – $1,200, Behavioral Health Services in Crawford County
  • Manilla Fire Department – $2,500, Bunker Gear Replacement
  • Manilla Wellness Center – $6,000, Operational Support and Fitness Equipment
  • Norelius Community Library – $1,000, Newspaper Digitization Project
  • Schleswig Volunteer Fire Department – $2,500, Replacing Outdated Equipment
  • Southwest Iowa Fishing Team, Inc. – $4,000, Fish Habitat Conservation Project
  • UCC-Child Care – $10,000, Child Care Center Land Acquisition
  • WESCO Industries – $4,000, Respite Updates
  • Western Iowa Expo – $5,000, Equipment Needs
  • Westside Community Club – $6,000, Building Repair

All grantees met the criteria as Crawford County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions supporting community needs in the areas of civic engagement, culture, health, education, and social services. Only organizations providing services in Crawford County were eligible to apply.

The Crawford County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the Omaha Community Foundation, which meets National Standards for Community Foundations, and is one of nine county members of the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa. It receives funds annually from the State of Iowa County Endowment Fund Program for endowment building and grantmaking throughout the county. Made possible through the County Endowment Fund Program, this cycle of grants was funded by a percentage of the state’s commercial gaming tax revenue, which is distributed annually to participating community foundations associated with counties without a state-issued gaming license.

Beyond the County Endowment Fund Program, the Crawford County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent and expendable funds that address changing, vital community needs and interests. To inquire about donating to the Crawford County Community Foundation, please contact the Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa staff or any board member listed below. Gifts to permanently endowed funds through the Crawford County Community Foundation may be eligible to receive a 25% Endow Iowa Tax Credit.

Board members of the Crawford County Community Foundation are Chair, Janine Kock of Westside; Vice Chair, Scott Bowker of Denison; Secretary/Treasurer, Steve Vollstedt of Manilla; Nikki Ahart of Dow City; Deb Quandt of Westside; Maura Sailer of Denison; Kelly Sonnichsen of Denison; Sarah Weinbrandt of Charter Oak; and Alan Weiss of Schleswig.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact Stacey Goodman, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458 or