NEWS RELEASE For Release April 22, 2017

For more information contact:

Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa

Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director

Office: 800-794 -3458

## \$114,462.82 Granted to Audubon County Nonprofit Agencies

Genelle Deist, Chair of the Audubon County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that grants totaling \$114,462.82 were awarded to Audubon County nonprofit agencies.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Audubon County Community Foundation by the February 1<sup>st</sup> deadline, were awarded grants by the ACCF Board of Directors:

Organization	Project	Award
Audubon Community Cinema	Rose Theater renovations; rebuild marquee, exterior façade, stage curtain	\$33,262.82
Audubon County Fair Board	Renovate Educational/Historical building on fairground	\$7,200.00
Audubon Recreation Foundation	Build bowling lanes at facility	\$40,000.00
City of Kimballton	Epoxy floor in main hall and hang sign above Town Hall entrance	\$10,000.00
Exira Community Club	Phase 3 of Rec Center storage area, additional seating and new entrance	\$20,000.00
Exira Lions Club	Scoreboards for two baseball/softball fields, upgrade red ball dirt infield	\$4,000.00

All grantees met the criteria as Audubon County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services. Only organizations providing services in Audubon County were eligible.

Audubon County agency representatives received their checks on April 10th. During brief check distribution activities, Deist commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Audubon County.

"Our Advisory Board is pleased to direct \$114,462.82 in grants to these important community efforts in Audubon County," Deist explained. "The Audubon County Community Foundation is one of nine counties that are collectively known as the Community Foundations of Southwest lowa and meets or exceeds the Standards for Community Foundations as established by the Council on Foundations in Washington DC."

The Audubon County Community Foundation works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and

interests. Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you'll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow lowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Audubon County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations. "This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall," said Deist.

Board members of the Audubon County Community Foundation are: Chair, Genelle Deist of Audubon; Vice Chair, Jonnie Meislahn of rural Gray; Secretary/Treasurer, Barbara Johnson of Audubon; Shelley Burr of Audubon; Joel Hoegh of rural Brayton; Daryl Olsen of Audubon; and Joseph T. Rasmussen of Exira.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.



Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards (left to right): 1st row: Millette Shores, City of Kimballton, Town Hall upgrades; Laurie Gilbert, Audubon Community Cinema; Deanna Hansen, Audubon County Fair Board/Audubon County Agricultural Society. 2nd row: Troy Wessel and Jenny Smith, Audubon Recreation Foundation; Abby Rasmussen, Exira Community Cub/City of Exira. Back row: Audubon County Community Foundation Advisory Board members Shelley Burr and Genelle Deist (Chair).