NEWS RELEASE (3 pages) For Release October 31, 2017 For more information contact:

Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa

Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director

Office: 800-794 -3458

## \$20,640 Granted to Fremont County Nonprofit Agencies

Kent Claiborne, Chair of the Fremont County Community Foundation, is pleased to announce that \$20,640 in grants was awarded to Fremont County nonprofit agencies. With these grants, the Fremont County Community Foundation has distributed over \$1.2 million in grants and scholarships over the last 19 years.

The following nonprofit organizations, which submitted applications to the Fremont County Community Foundation by the September 1<sup>st</sup> deadline, were awarded grants by the Fremont County Community Foundation Board of Directors:

Organization	Project	Award
Cub Scout Pack 73	Cargo trailer	\$1,350.00
Farragut Community Hometown Pride	Bike racks on Main Street	\$1,300.00
Hamburg Community School District	Exposure to the Arts program	\$600.00
Hamburg Fire Department	Turnout gear	\$4,000.00
Percival Hometown Pride	Bench and trash receptacle for Percival Park	\$1,000.00
Randolph Park Committee	Toddler structure for City Park	\$2,090.00
Randolph Public Library	Bathroom renovation	\$3,350.00
Sidney Hometown Pride	Concrete slab for community recycle bin	\$3,000.00
Tabor Hometown Pride	Tabor Main Street Wall Mural	\$1,600.00
Tabor Public Library	Library Stacks & Storage	\$2,000.00
West Central Community Action	Food pantry storage units	\$350.00

The amount available included \$600 from the Hamburg Arts Endowed Fund, \$690 from the Farragut Community Endowment Fund, and \$1,550 from the Hamburg Community Endowment Fund.

All grantees met the criteria as Fremont County nonprofit agencies or organizations with charitable missions in the areas of civic, cultural, health, education and social services. Only organizations providing services in Fremont County were eligible.

Fremont County agency representatives received their checks on October 30th. During brief check distribution activities, Claiborne commended the nonprofit agencies for their individual efforts to provide a better quality of life for the residents of Fremont County.

The Fremont County Community Foundation was established in 1998 and works with individuals, families, businesses and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests. Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you'll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow lowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

The Fremont County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations. "This has grown from an annual event to twice a year, with one grant cycle in the spring and another in the fall," said Claiborne.

Board members of the Fremont County Community Foundation are: Chair, Kent Claiborne of Hamburg; Vice Chair, Steve Lorimor of Farragut; Secretary/Treasurer, Erika Graham of Sidney; Kristin Blackburn of Tabor; Jonna Loewe of Sidney; Lindsey Carter of Randolph; and Kirk Shearer of Farragut.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the Board Members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.



Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards: 1st row from left to right: Susan Shepherd, Tabor Hometown Pride; Dawn Miller, Tabor Public Library; Rory Glenn, Cub Scout Pack 73; Tracey Anderson, West Central Community Action. 2nd row: Linda Heywood, Randolph Public Library; Kay Wing, Farragut Community Hometown Pride; Teri Emberton, Hamburg Middle School; Beth Lueth, Percival Hometown Pride. 3nd row: Jane Wilson, Farragut Community Hometown Pride; Jeremy Christiansen, Fremont-Mills Community Schools; Tim Hood, Sidney Community Schools. 4th row: Jonna Loewe, Fremont County Community Foundation (accepting for Sidney Hometown Pride); Kent Claiborne, Chair, Fremont County Community Foundation; and Erika Graham, Secretary/Treasurer, Fremont County Community Foundation.