NEWS RELEASE For Release November 18, 2017 For more information contact: **Community Foundations of Southwest Iowa** Dennis N. Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director Office: 800-794 -3458

## \$11,000 Granted to Crawford County Nonprofit Agencies

Patrick Wuestewald, Chair of the Crawford County Community Foundation (CCCF), is pleased to announce that approximately \$11,000 in grants have been awarded by the Crawford County Community Foundation in October 2017. With these grants, the Crawford County Community Foundation has distributed more than \$1.1 million in grants and scholarships over the last 12 years.

The board awarded \$846.15 to the each of the following cities: Arion, Aspinwall, Buck Grove, Charter Oak, Deloit, Denison, Dow City, Kiron, Manilla, Ricketts, Schleswig, Vail, and Westside. The grants are for "public recreation and aesthetics".

Agency representatives received their checks on November 17<sup>th</sup>.

The Crawford County Community Foundation was established in 2005 and works with individuals, families, businesses, and organizations to create permanent funds that address the changing, vital community needs and interests. The Crawford County Community Foundation invests and administers these funds, and distributes grants to deserving, qualified nonprofit organizations.

Donating to a permanently endowed fund helps your neighbors today AND you help build a stronger community tomorrow. Not only that, you'll be eligible to receive a 25% Endow lowa Tax Credit for each donation, in addition to any Federal tax benefits for which you may qualify.

Board members of the Crawford County Community Foundation are: Chair, Patrick Wuestewald of Manilla; Vice Chair, Janine Kock of Westside; Secretary/Treasurer, Ken Kahl of Dow City; Scott Bowker of Denison, Tonya Eller of Denison, Matt Lujano of Westside; Marla Raasch of Charter Oak; Adam Ullrich, Esq., of Denison; and Alan Weiss of Schleswig.

For information about donating or establishing an individual foundation/fund, please contact any of the board members, or call Dennis Nissen, Iowa Foundations Director, at 800-794-3458.



Nonprofit representatives receiving grant awards: 1st row from left to right: Deb Garrett, City of Dow City; Jennifer Reiter, City of Vail; Connie Mulligan, City of Deloit; Lisa Koch, City of Denison; Kristi Stephens, City of Arion. 2<sup>nd</sup> row: Laura Jahn, City of Manilla; Don Beam, City of Arion. 3<sup>rd</sup> row: Tim Caldwell, City of Buck Grove; Larry Jons, City of Westside; Alan Weiss and Scott Bowker, Crawford County Community Foundation board members. 4<sup>th</sup> row: Ken Kahl, Secretary/Treasurer, Marla Raasch, and Patrick Wuestewald, Chair, Crawford County Community Foundation.

Also, the Citizens for Crawford County awarded \$1,000 to Crossroads of Crawford County for computers, software and printers and \$1,388 to the City of Denison for Dog Park improvements.



Accepting the Citizens for Crawford County grant awards are: 1<sup>st</sup> row: Caleb Schroeder and Larry Luvass of Crossroads of Crawford County; Douglass Soseman (presenting for Citizens for Crawford County); and Lisa Koch, City of Denison. 2<sup>nd</sup> row: Crawford County Community Foundation board members: Ken Kahl, Secretary/Treasurer; Marla Raasch; Alan Weiss; Patrick Wuestewald, Chair; Scott Bowker.

###